Regardless of Paris Style Week this yr being canceled, Mr. Saturday has pushed by with a digital presentation for its Spring/Summer season 2021 assortment. Titled “The place Life is Only a State of Thoughts,” the seasonal vary continues HXOUSE graduate, founder and designer Joey Gollish‘s examine of ephemera with a deal with Saturday evening in New York Metropolis again in 1984.

Referencing the interval between Stephen Sprouse’s Fall/Winter 1984 runway present on the Ritz and Keith Haring’s 26th birthday at Paradise Storage, “The place Life is Only a State of Thoughts” displays on a second in historical past that outlined an period. Accenting Mr. Saturday’s signature tackle tailor-made silhouettes are patchwork and graphic functions that examine historic nightlife, its subcultures and their connection to right this moment.

An necessary a part of the story can be the retelling of Michael Stewart’s demise in 1983, which resulted from an assault from police who arrested him for tagging a subway station in New York Metropolis, in addition to the artist neighborhood’s response to his passing. Upcycled classic American flags, classic/deadstock linens and extra assist mirror the inventive spirit of the ’80s and supplies a message of historic parallels and darkish irony.

READ  ‘Don’t know what number of extra blows’ we will take – Information-top

Gollish notes, “The scenius of New York Metropolis in 1984, in some methods, feels just like right this moment. Younger individuals didn’t like the way in which issues have been, so that they determined to vary them. On the identical time, individuals have been dying, existence have been altering. The identical individuals who modified every little thing realized that they wanted to vary, or on the very least, they have been altering whether or not they favored it or not. 1984, the start of the tip for this period.”

Main the SS21 assortment is the Partner Blouson and Denim set produced from a lightweight brushed denim with a print impressed by Stephen Sprouse’s iconic writing. Different standouts embody the Stars and Stripes Jacket crafted of hand-picked classic U.S. flags from the ’70s, the Michael Stewart Linen emblazoned with a poster print from considered one of Stewart’s profit concert events on the again and a print of a Larry Levan file on the facet. Ending off the presentation was the Stars and Stripes Trench which makes use of classic cotton U.S. flags marked with a patchwork of moments from Danceteria nightclub and The Ritz, in addition to a hidden print of Stewart inside the flag, used to characterize his freedom.

READ  China opens safety workplace in Hong Kong – Information-top

Take a look at the digital presentation for Mr. Saturday’s SS21 “The place Life is Only a State of Thoughts” assortment above.

View this put up on Instagram

Now Live on @highsnobiety Credits: Cast: Tristan Cole – @tristncole Pierre Bassene – @ppppiero Brandon Wilson – @brandontylerwilson Kyla Garbutt – @tittiecent Narration: Justin Strauss Executive Producer: CRUEL – @cruel_co Executive Producer: Saturday Industries Ltd. – @heymrsaturday Producer: Bella Randazzo – @berlerr.randazzon Director: Mac Siwocha – @macsiwocha Creative Director: Joey Gollish + Domenic Lisi – @joey_saturday @domlisi Director of Photography: Liam Higgins – @liamhiggins Photographer: Norman Wong – @norman_wong 1st AC + Picture Editor: Steven Tsinokas – @steventsinokas 3D Animators: Will Selviz, Trish Roque, Simón Bustamantes, Terry Fernández – @willselviz @trishroque_ Motion Graphics Artist : James Nahhas + Justin Nahhas – @jimnahhas @justinnahhas Music: Body In The Water Sound Designer: Sean Kudryk – @seankudryk Digi-Tech: Kevin Bryan – @kevinsbryan Digi-Tech: Paolo Cristante – @paolo.cristante Key Gaffer: Gideon Ayesu @congobluekid Best Boy Electric: Lisa Quail Key Grip: Doug Cunningham – @douglas.cunningham Art Director: Courtney Bell – @courtney_mbe Stylist: Bobby Bowen – @bobbybowen Stylist Assistant: Tina Razian MUA: Sierra Elliott – @sierraeartistry Key PA: Tred Shea – @tredegarshea PA: Scott Goodwin – @nscottgoodwin PA: Rob Lannan – @roblannan Craft: Torri Richards – @torririchards Special Thanks: Jewellery by Steff Eleoff – @steffeleoffofficial Associate Producer: Patio Interactive – @patioinc KZM Agency – @kzmagency Neighbourhood Studios – @neighbourhood_to Ontario Camera – @ontariocamera Ground Up Services – @groundupservices HXOUSE – @hxouse

A put up shared by Mr. Saturday (@heymrsaturday) on Jun 28, 2020 at 5:43am PDT

View this put up on Instagram

I’m just happy to be here . Huge thank you to everyone who takes ridiculous chances on me. From vintage t’s to the runway. . . @cruel_co @hxouse @highsnobiety @chapter2agency @clarajeon @kend305 @jiandeleon @norman__wong @bobbybowenn @steffeleoffofficial @stay_at_home_arsonist @neighbourhood_to @liamhiggins @congobluekid @macsiwocha @trishroque_ @willselviz @karlineo @jimnahhas @domlisi @berlerr.randazzon @ivazelic @joachimjohnson @thacommisioner @zoeydash

A put up shared by Joey Gollish (@joey_saturday) on Jun 28, 2020 at 1:54pm PDT

For extra modern trend, the YEEZY Gap partnership elicits concerns about the postponed Telfar collaboration.

READ  'Zlatan's a much bigger world star than LeBron' - NBA ahead Larry Nance Jr

The put up Mr. Saturday’s SS21 Collection Explores Saturday Night in New York City in 1984 appeared first on Hypebeast.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here